5 Darke County girls named 1st team all-CCC

By Kyle Shaner kshaner@civitasmedia.com

March 1, 2014

DARKE COUNTY — Arcanum’s Rachel Fearon was named the Cross County Conference girls basketball coach of the year, and five Darke County girls earned first team all-conference honors from the league.

Ansonia’s Catey Fischer, Arcanum’s Alexis Abner, Arcanum’s Abbey O’Donnell, Bradford’s Brooke Dunlevy and Tri-Village’s Krystal Falknor each were named first team all-CCC by the conference.

Arcanum’s Abby Ross, Bradford’s Haley Patty, Bradford’s Bree Bates, Franklin Monroe’s Morgan Booher, Tri-Village’s Ecko Brown and Tri-Village’s Raya Mikesell each were named second team all-league.

Ansonia’s Lydia Sink, Arcanum’s Stevie Johnting, Bradford’s Gabby Fair, Franklin Monroe’s Morgan Bingham, Mississinawa Valley’s Mackenzie Dirmeyer and Tri-Village’s Lexie Bruner each were named to the CCC’s special mention team.

Miami East’s Trina Current was named the CCC girls basketball player of the year, and Arcanum’s Fearon was named the coach of the year.

Miami East won the CCC championship with a 12-0 record this season. Arcanum was the runner up at 11-1, Tri-Village went 10-2, Bradford went 9-3, and Covington finished 7-5.

Ansonia and Newton both finished 6-6 in the league while Mississinawa Valley and National Trail both finished 5-7. Franklin Monroe went 3-9 in league play, Tri-County North was 2-10, Bethel was 1-11, and Twin Valley South went 0-12.

CCC girls basketball

First team

Catey Fischer, Ansonia

Alexis Abner, Arcanum

Abbey O’Donnell, Arcanum

Brooke Dunlevy, Bradford

Cassidy Cain, Covington

Ashley Current, Miami East

Trina Current, Miami East

Angie Mack, Miami East

Kate Deaton, National Trail

Krystal Falknor, Tri-Village

Second team

Abby Ross, Arcanum

Haley Patty, Bradford

Bree Bates, Bradford

Heidi Cron, Covington

Morgan Booher, Franklin Monroe

Emily Kindell, Miami East

Miranda Mize, National Trail

Trelissa Lavy, Newton

Ecko Brown, Tri-Village

Raya Mikesell, Tri-Village

Special mention

Lydia Sink, Ansonia

Stevie Johnting, Arcanum

Jillian Callaham, Bethel

Gabby Fair, Bradford

Jessie Crowell, Covington

Morgan Bingham, Franklin Monroe

Samantha Skidmore, Miami East

Mackenzie Dirmeyer, Mississinawa Valley

Andrea Hunt, National Trail

Madison Mollette, Newton

Jackie Marshall, Tri-County North

Lexie Bruner, Tri-Village

Haily Keehner, Twin Valley South

Player of the year: Trina Current, Miami East

Coach of the year: Rachel Fearon, Arcanum