Versailles bowlers earn honors at WOHSBC awards banquet

By Kyle Shaner

March 20, 2014

ST. HENRY — The West Ohio High School Bowling Conference year end awards banquet was held at Romer’s Catering in St. Henry on Sunday.

It was one great season for the Versailles bowling program as the Tigers were the recipients of many awards.

The girls and the boys varsity both were awarded gold medals for their championships as well as a nice plaque. The girls junior varsity finished in second place and also received medals and a plaque for their teams second place finish.

All-conference girls selections from Versailles are as follows: first team all-conference — Megan Monnin and Brooke Wehrkamp; second team all-conference — Megan Ward, Tori Minnich, Paige Holsapple, Hannah Niekamp; honorable mention — Kelsey Berning

All-conference boys selections are as follows: first team all-conference — Michael Davidson and Ben Ahrens; second team all-conference — Dustin Ruhe and Zach Marshal; honorable mention — Alex Groff and Kyle Cotner

Michael Davidson received the WOHSBC bowler of the year for the boys. He set a conference record average of 230.1, beating the prior record of 217. He also received his second place trophy for finishing second place in the kickoff singles tournament back in November to start the season. He also received a certificate for rolling the high two-game series for the season of 495.

Megan Monnin received her trophy for finishing second place in the kickoff singles tournament back in November. Paige Holsapple received a nice trophy for rolling the high game and the high series for the conference for the season. She rolled a 279 and a 488 series.

The Joe Remaklus Scholarship Award is awarded by the Remaklus family. Joe was a long time bowler/bowling proprietor in Mercer County. He was the founder of Miracle Lanes in Fort Recovery and co-founder of Plamor Lanes in Coldwater. Joe passed away in April 2000 and his family wanted to give back to the young bowlers of the future. Highest GPA and highest bowling average is the determining factor. This year’s winner for the boys was Michael Davidson of Versailles and for the girls was Lauren Sanning of Coldwater.