Youngest team wins FM’s alumni tournament

By Kyle Shaner kshaner@civitasmedia.com

June 14, 2014

PITSBURG — The youngest team in the tournament won the championship at Franklin Monroe’s annual alumni men’s basketball tournament on Saturday afternoon.

Six teams representing Franklin Monroe alumni from 2014 back to the 1980s took to the court in the double-elimination tournament.

“It went well,” Franklin Monroe varsity boys basketball coach Troy Myers said. “To me it’s a blessing to have all the guys come back. I think it shows a lot of loyalty, I think it shows a lot of pride in what we’re doing here, but also it shows their interest in the basketball program. That’s why the tradition is so rich here, because of the guys who support us, the guys who care about it. And it was on display today, and we couldn’t be more fortunate.”

The 2013 team beat the class of 1998, which has played in the championship game each of the past three years, 44-41 for this year’s championship. The winning team had seven players who graduated from Franklin Monroe from 2011 through 2014 — Zach Diceanu, Nathan Feitshans, Travis Feitshans, Devin Fourman, Jaden Horner, Trey Mong and Van Spitler.

“The wide array of talent, you just put it on the court and see what happens,” Myers said. “I thought the turnout was great.”

This year’s tournament was held in the memory of the late Brian “Big Mo” Morris, who served as a custodial engineer at Franklin Monroe for 18 years and had a passion for the Jets’ boys basketball program.