Last updated: July 04. 2014 2:42PM - 971 Views
By - kshaner@civitasmedia.com

KYLE SHANER/Advocate photoJim Clouse runs during the 31st annual Firecracker 5K on Friday morning in Ansonia.
KYLE SHANER/Advocate photoJim Clouse runs during the 31st annual Firecracker 5K on Friday morning in Ansonia.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ANSONIA — Approximately 350 runners and walkers competed in the 31st annual Firecracker 5K on the Fourth of July in Ansonia.

Participation in Friday’s race, which was sponsored by the Ansonia Fire Department, was down slightly from last year’s event.

“Everything went real well,” Race Director John Snyder said. “Great weather.”

Calen Bruner was the overall race winner, finishing in 16:48.4. Adam Klipstine finished second in 17:11.2, and Kyle Minnich finished third in 17:45.3 while pushing a stroller.

Ashley Lefeld was the overall female winner with a time of 19:13.5. Lois Spitzer finished second in 21:10.1, and Crystal Barton finished third in 21:20.7.

Carter Miller won the boys 10 and younger division in a time of 24:24.4. Keegen Weiss finished second in 26:44.0, and Robert Dancer finished third in 27:04.8.

Lauren Burns won the girls 10 and younger race in 33:24.3. Emma Rust finished second in 34:46.4, and Izzy Bowersock finished third in 36:55.0.

Conner Miller won the boys 11 to 14 age division in a time of 18:45.6. Camden Abernathy finished second in 20:12.5, and Logan Warner finished third in 21:53.9.

Kennedy Newell won the girls 11 to 14 age division in 21:33.1. Kara Spitzer finished second in 22:36.6, and Grace Coakley finished third in 23:36.1.

Bailey Hartle won the boys 15 to 19 age division in a time of 18:16.3. Joe Spitzer finished second in 18:28.9, and Seth Stammen finished third in 18:43.9.

Zoe Stiefel won the girls 15 to 19 division with a time of 23:10.1. Anne Bradfield finished second in 23:10.5, and Hannah Coakley finished third in 23:13.3.

Shane Stein won the men’s 20 to 24 division in 17:55.8. Austin Bergman finished second in 20:08.1, and Tyler Young finished third in 24:03.0.

Erin Hoening won the women’s 20 to 24 age division in a time of 23:28.1. Elizabeth Boerger finished second in 24:29.6, and Sarah Lennartz finished third in 25:28.7.

Cele Gonzalez won the men’s 25 to 29 age division in 17:59.8. Shawn Stein finished second in 18:14.7, and Kyle Homan finished third in 21:26.2.

Amber Gelhaus won the women’s 25 to 29 division with a time of 23:13.4. Laura Moore finished second in 26:26.7, and Lyndsey Ross finished third in 26:59.1.

Chad Topp won the men’s 30 to 34 age division in a time of 19:29.4. Nathan Warren finished second in 20:17.1, and Bruce Burns finished third in 20:18.0.

Kori Weiss won the women’s 30 to 34 division in 25:35.1. Amanda Townsend finished second in 26:06.1, and Lauren Armstrong finished third in 26:27.7.

Chris Warner won the men’s 35 to 39 age division in 21:38.3. John Contreras finished second in 22:11.3, and Mike Hawkey finished third in 22:25.8.

Holly Fiora won the women’s 35 to 39 division in a time of 21:33.1. Jennifer Warner finished second in 22:06.8, and Christina Bowersock finished third in 22:52.9.

Erik Newell won the men’s 40 to 44 age division in 20:07.8. David Wogoman finished second in 21:48.8, and Jeff Adams finished third in 22:08.1.

Kitty Zumbrink won the women’s 40 to 44 age division with a time of 24:38.9. Stephanie Lind finished second in 24:55.5, and Teri Samples finished third in 28:41.4.

Rory Helms won the men’s 45 to 49 age division in a time of 18:36.4. Tony Gonzalez finished second in 19:54.9, and Todd Miller finished third in 20:15.6.

Jeanne Homan won the women’s 45 to 49 division with a time of 23:17.8. Deanne Rhoades finished second in 23:45.0, and Patty Sutter finished third in 25:05.4.

Joe Vonder Haar won the men’s 50 to 54 age division with a time of 19:42.8. Dan Homan finished second in 19:53.9, and Rick Rhoades finished third in 23:45.1.

Linda Barhorst won the women’s 50 to 54 division in a time of 23:49.8. Gloria Burns finished second in 26:11.1, and Shelly Haber finished third in 26:54.1.

Rick Moody won the men’s 55 to 59 division with a time of 18:18.4. Tom Quigley finished second in 18:54.7, and Mark Barton finished third in 20:55.4.

Sandy Hoening won the women’s 55 to 59 age division in 22:14.8. Kathy Barton finished second in 24:29.5, and Jeannie Grosch finished third in 28:20.8.

Scott Strain won the men’s 60 to 64 age division in 21:02.0. Gary Cohee finished second in 22:16.1, and Richard Barton finished third in 23:32.5.

Susan Fowble won the women’s 60 to 64 division in a time of 28:46.6. Louise Forronl finished second in 29:52.6, and Teresa Clark finished third in 30:30.5.

Ron Griffitts won the men’s 65 to 69 division with a time of 25:55.2. Chuck Petty finished second in 28:08.2, and Randy Bashore finished third in 29:15.4.

Mary Saintignon won the women’s 65 to 69 age division in a time of 30:26.4.

George Sowers won the men’s 70 to 74 division in 36:34.6.

Marilyn Sowers won the women’s 70 to 74 age division with a time of 40:57.6.

Jerry Monnin won the men’s 80 and older age division in a time of 44:08.9.

Team Addie Girl won the team competition. Team YOLO finished second, and Greenville Cross Country finished third.

For complete results from the race, visit www.goodtimesraces.com.

The Firecracker 5K is part of the Wayne Healthcare Challenge. The next event in the series will be The Angel Run on July 20 in North Star. For more information on the Wayne Healthcare Challenge, visit www.waynehealthcarechallenge.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Greenville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com