Last updated: December 12. 2013 8:26AM - 340 Views
By - lmoody@civitasmedia.com - 937-569-4315

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

GREENVILLE - The Darke County Township Association (DCTA) held its annual Christmas banquet Tuesday night with township trustees and fiscal officers welcoming other public officials, businesses and friends to share the fun evening with them.

Greenville High School’s Wavaires entertained, and the oath of office was issued to newly-elected trustees, with Darke County Common Pleas Court Judge Jonathan Hein handling the swearing-in ceremonies assisted by Municipal Court Judge Julie Monnin.

Dave Brewer, current president, welcomed those in attendance, while Larry Royer led in the Pledge of Allegiance and Richard McMiller provided the invocation.

Brewer recognized the county officials and he and Ed Huff Jr., current vice president and the incoming president, recognized former officials and DCTA presidents as well as the sponsors for the night’s program.

State officers on hand were Ohio Township Association Directors Ron Miller, Scott Fabian, Tim Lynch and Tom Willsey as well as Bill Underwood, an associate member. Lunch is current secretary-treasurer of the OTA and will be the second vice president, while Willsey will be the first vice president.

Willsey, who hails from Butler County, told the group about the winter conference, which is Feb. 12-15.

“”There will be over 60 educational classes this year,” he said. “Every year, it gets bigger and better. I urge others to attend. There is so much for new people to learn. The most knowledge you will get is from people from other areas. You’ll learn by talking to them.”

Willsey also reported that there are now five open positions for the board of directors.

It was also announced by Brewer that Darke County Board of Elections Director Becky Martin reminded them that the campaign finance reports are due Friday.

Before all of the door prizes were given away, Huff presented Brewer with a plaque for having served the past four years as president of the Darke County Township Association.

Officers for 2014 are: Huff, president; Jim Zumbrink, vice president; Debbie Kuhnle, secretary; Dave Brewer, treasurer; and Larry Royer, executive secretary.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Greenville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com